Monday, 27 May 2019

You will soon be able to auto-delete your Location History

You will soon be able to auto-delete your Location History
Your Google account will now come with a new feature that allows you to auto-delete your Location History. You will also be able to delete your Web and App Activity data after a certain period of time. The data will be deleted automatically after either three or eighteen months which will be on a rolling basis.

Last year it emerged that Google still continued to track your location, inspite of the Location History setting being turned off. In case you want to stop your location being tracked, you have to go to your settings and turn off the Web and App Activity as well. According to the announcement made by Google, you will be able to auto-delete your Location History as well as your Web and App Activity. With this delete feature,it should cover your entire location history data that Google holds on you.

How to auto-delete your Location History


According to Google, the feature to auto-delete your Location History will be available worldwide in the coming weeks. This feature will be in addition to the existing options which allow you to delete this data manually. Initially, the ‘auto-delete your Location History’ and deleting your Web and App Activity data are the two features that will be available.

Main points regarding auto-delete your Location History


Google will auto-delete your Location History as well as Web history after three or eighteen months. Google will now have little information so as to recommend things, but not have years of private data. Up until this time, you had to either turn off this tracking or manually delete the information.

Google made an announcement that it will soon allow all those using Google services to auto-delete your Location History and Web history. As of now, the users need to visit Google and manually delete this information or completely turn it off. The disadvantage in turning off your location or Web history, is that, it can hurt your experience. As a result, Google will not have enough information to recommend things you may like.

With this new feature where you can auto-delete your Location History and Web history there is an advantage. You can tell Google to delete all information older than three or eighteen months on a rolling basis.

You can choose how long your location history or web history is to be saved to Google’s servers. You can allow Google to store your information from three to eighteen months. Any information older than that will automatically get deleted from your Google account. This will be done automatically on a rolling basis.

This feature to auto-delete your Location History and Web history should be rolling out in the coming weeks. You can in the meantime check your Google account Activity Controls page to see if the feature is available. When it becomes available, you will note the new automatic deletion option. This will feature under the Web and App Activity and Location History sections.

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.